WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday #13 – 2nd September 2015

WWW WednesdaysThis is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words.  You can participate by answering three simple questions.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

All images link back to their respective Goodreads page.

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)What am I currently reading?Circus of the Damned (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #3)

I’m getting through Crown of Midnight slowly but surely and I’m really enjoying it.  I’m loving the dynamic between Celaena, Chaol and Dorian and their love triangle that’s not much of a love triangle, it’s kind of unclear what’s going to happen.

I’m also still reading Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton but old books are taking a back burner to new books.

Steelheart (Reckoners, #1)What did I recently finish reading?Priest

I read a grand total of eight books in the past week.

I’ve recently finished loads of books – the bank holiday weekend was a weekend of relaxing and blitzing through several books.  First up was Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson, I wasn’t planning on reading this first but my partner read it and I wanted us to have a book both of us could talk about.  You can find my review for Steelheart here, it’s a mash-up kind of book but very good regardless.

Second was Priest by Sierra Simone – finally! It was superb and took me about 3 hours to blitz through.  What I loved most about 1227 QI Facts To Blow Your Socks Offthis book was that it was told primarily from Tyler Bell’s point of view which is rare in a romance book – predominantly they’re told from the female point of view with the occasional chapter or two from the males.  This book being what it is – it wouldn’t have made sense at all to have told it from Poppy’s POV and you can find my review for Priest here.Shuttergirl

I also read a book by the guys from the TV show QI – 1,227 QI Facts That Will Blow Your Socks Off.  I wouldn’t say it blew my socks off but some of those facts were amazing and were things I didn’t know about at all, it was good to read it.  It only took me about an hour maybe an hour and a half to finish.

I also finished Shuttergirl by C. D. Reiss which I thought was amazing, again it contained some taboo subject matter much Markham Hall Series Bundle (Markham Hall #1-4)like Priest but it was written and explained well and I wasn’t overly put off by it – I thought that the writing style was perfect for the setting and you can find my review here.

I also blitzed through the Markham Hall Series bundle – though I bought them all individually and then realised that there was a bundle of the whole series.  It includes The Awakening of Ivy Leavold, The Education of Ivy Leavold, The Punishment of Ivy Leavold and The Reclaiming of Ivy leavold.  I enjoyed it but I was thrown off by the modernised phraseology and words that were used as this was supposed to be a Regency romance series – there were lots of modern terms that just didn’t sit right with the surrounding storylines.

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3)What do I think I’ll read next?The Bourbon Kings (The Bourbon Kings, #1)

Provided I finish Crown of Midnight I’ll be reading Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas in preparation for the release of Queen of Shadows next week.

I might read The Bourbon Kings but I don’t wanna – if I read it now, I’ll have to wait at least a year for the next book and that is just depressing.  I hate waiting, but on the flip side I love the suspense of having to wait for a prolonged period of time to read the next installment.

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #13 – 2nd September 2015

Post a comment